03 Feb 2020
list of naturally gluten free foods

Living gluten-free doesn’t have to feel like you’re always searching for gluten-free alternatives. There are real foods that are naturally gluten-free, that can be perfect as your go-to food choices. Remember to properly read food labels so you wouldn’t worry about accidentally ingesting gluten.

Eating naturally gluten-free food minimizes gluten-contamination, and most of it is fairly healthy, so it’s a win-win! Here are some naturally gluten-free foods to add to your shopping cart.

List of Naturally Gluten-Free Foods

Dairy Products (Cheese, Milk, Cream, Yogurt, and Butter)

Most dairy products are naturally gluten-free. However, those that are flavored and contain additives should always be double-checked for gluten (Source: Healthline). Some common gluten-containing ingredients that may be added to dairy products include thickeners, malt, and modified food starch.

RELATED: Eating Gluten Free in 2019 – Here’s Our Celiac Disease Food List

Proteins (Red Meat, Poultry, and Seafoods)

You can indulge in your favorite meats and seafood without the guilt of eating gluten since they are naturally gluten-free. However, you have to be careful when cooking these proteins to make sure that all the ingredients you will add are also gluten-free. 


Fruits and Vegetables

Fresh fruits and vegetables are all naturally gluten-free. Keep in mind to always stick with the fresh ones so you won’t worry about gluten-containing ingredients used to thicken and flavor processed foods and vegetables. 

Beverages (Water, 100% Fruit Juice, Coffee, Tea, and Lemonade)

Fresh fruit juices (any fruit), brewed coffee, and natural tea are naturally gluten-free beverages options you can enjoy. There are also some alcoholic beverages, including wine, hard ciders, and beers made from gluten-free grains, such as buckwheat or sorghum, you can drink without worrying about gluten contamination. 

RELATED: Here Is Your One-Stop Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverage List

Whole Grains

One thing most people are not aware of is that while some whole grains contain gluten, there are many that do not. 

Here is a list of some gluten-free whole grains:

  • Quinoa
  • Brown rice
  • Wild rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Sorghum
  • Tapioca
  • Millet
  • Amaranth
  • Teff
  • Arrowroot
  • Oats

YOU’LL LOVE: 7 Ancient Grains Whole Grain Bread (which contains many of these tasty grains!)

It’s essential to double-check food labels when purchasing whole grains. Even gluten-free whole grains can be contaminated with gluten, mainly if they are processed in the same facility as gluten-containing foods.

For example, oats are often processed in facilities that also process wheat, which can lead to cross-contamination. For this reason, you should confirm that the oats you purchase are certified gluten-free.

After reading up the list, you’ll find out that most healthy foods are naturally gluten-free, so even if you are living gluten-free, you don’t have to worry about not eating healthy foods. You can still have a well-balanced diet and take good care of your health. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email