14 Jul 2016
hidden sources gluten

For people who have a gluten intolerance or sensitivity it can be challenging to not only shop for your own groceries but also to dine out. What you might think is a safe choice for a meal might actually have hidden sources of gluten. You don’t end up knowing this until it is too late and you are not feeling well.

Hidden Sources Gluten Resides


Most people would assume that a variety of sauces are safe to consume because they are eaten in small quantities but also because they tend to be liquid and don’t immediately look like they contain gluten. In fact, many sauces are packed full of gluten. One such sauce is soy sauce so if you are heading to your favorite sushi restaurant you not only want to pay attention to what is in your meal but also what you are dipping your food into. Aside from soy sauce, gravy, cream sauces and all kinds of dipping sauces can contain gluten as a way to thicken the sauce.

Related: Foods with Gluten Hiding in Plain Sight – Infographic


Even soups that have been prepared homemade can contain gluten so unless you have made the soup yourself, you should probably inquire about what went into the creation or you can read a label for the product. Wheat flour is often used to thicken soups but gluten can also be hidden in other ingredients that might be added to the soups like MSG, seasonings, salt and more. A hidden source of gluten might be in one of the additions to the soup like the seafood or meat that is the base for the soup.

French Fries

Many people assume their beloved French fries are safe to eat even with a gluten intolerance but this might not be the case. The crispiest fries on the menu are made by tossing the potatoes in flour before deep frying them. In general, fried food is usually a no-go because if the product is not dredged in flour, the oil in the deep fryer might be contaminated from other gluten-laden foods. A gluten-friendly restaurant will actually have a dedicated fryer for gluten intolerant consumers.

Hot Beverages

In the colder months it’s nice to sit down with a warm cup of coffee or hot chocolate. Again, unless you have made this yourself, you will want to look further into the ingredients. Many instant mixes contain gluten as a way to thicken the product and to make  it go further. Aside from the instant beverage mix, there can also be gluten lurking in the creamer or added flavor shots. One big no-no is caramel or malt, which almost always contains gluten.


Made fresh, by themselves, eggs are completely gluten free. However some diners and restaurant chains will use gluten or pancake batter as a way to fluff up their scrambled eggs. Most people don’t know this and think that eating eggs alone is a safe option.

If you want to be extra sure that what you are eating is safe then you can ask to speak to the chef who is preparing your food. Also, educating yourself on some hidden sources of gluten can help you increase awareness about what you are consuming.


3B - Newsletter CTA

Print Friendly, PDF & Email