- BY Susan Tucker
- POSTED IN Information
- WITH 0 COMMENTS
- STANDARD POST TYPE
The public is starting to learn about gluten’s negative effect on the human body and how it is not limited to those celiac disease. What doctors and nutritionists are discovering is that gluten is very abundant in the typical American diet: it is formed when wheat flour and water mix, a critical step in the preparation of many common foods. The symptoms associated with gluten intolerance range from moderate to severe depending on the individual’s sensitivity. Irritation results in an inflammation of the small intestine, which can lead to pain, nausea, gas, diarrhea and a malfunction in nutrient absorption. Here at Three Bakers we tend to focus on foods that are gluten free, but what about those foods containing gluten that you may not even know about yet? Let’s explore them here.
Foods High in Gluten
Sugary cereals are major culprits in this category as are pastas, bread, cookies, batter-fried foods, ice cream cones, pancake mix, cornbread, pretzels and anything else made with wheat, barley or rye. Gluten heavy flours to look for and avoid include durum, farina, farro, emmer, graham, triticale, malt, semolina and spelt.
Related: Where to Find Gluten-Free Sources of Fiber
Condiments containing monosodium glutamate, modified food starch, bouillon and malt or thickened with wheat or flour are dense with gluten. Soy sauce, worcestershire, ketchup and many salad dressings should all be nixed from a gluten-free diet. These ingredients can also be found in seasonings and gravy.
Related: Making Your Kitchen Gluten Free
Beer, ale, light beer and most hard liquors are all made with grains containing gluten. It is of vital importance reduce or eliminate alcohol from your diet at the very first sign of a gluten intolerance.
Related: 10 Frustrating Celiac Disease Myths
Grains are used in the manufacture of sausages, salami, cold cuts and most other processed meats. Processed meats are already tough on the human digestive system, for a gluten intolerant person they can be doubly problematic.
Related: Is it Gluten Free? Reading Food Labels
Many sweets and treats are made with flours and other substances containing gluten. Foods made with and containing malt have a high gluten content, as does ice cream, candies, sherbets, commercial cake frosting, and root beer.
Related: 5 Must-Try Gluten Free Pumpkin Recipes
The key to dealing with a gluten intolerance is staying informed and checking ingredients labels. Gluten-free or low gluten foods are more widely available than ever. Also many foods you already enjoy are low in gluten, such as beans, corn, fruits and veggies, fish, poultry and potatoes. Gluten-free grains include amaranth, buckwheat, flax, quinoa, tapioca and wild rice. Being food content aware will open you up to new types of foods that you may find even more delicious and fulfilling than the ones you’ll be giving up.